PRODUCT REVIEWS

The following is a list of Product Reviews we have done of various items that have been sent to Ashley and I. We do our best to provide honest feedback about each product that we receive from a given manufacture.  The usual format of our reviews is a blurb about the product from the manufacture, followed by our formal review. If you have any experience with one of the products listed below, please feel free to add your feedback by writing a comment. We have been doing product reviews for well over four years and typically remove reviews more than three years old from this section to our Archive Review Section.  We do this because certain products are discontinued, updated, and/or changed by manufacturers without notice and we like to keep our reviews up-to date for our readers as much as possible.

Munk Pack (January 12, 2015)
Munk Pack is the maker of three great tasting healthy oatmeal fruit squeezes for the health conscious hiker. As of our review, they make three different flavors of Munk Packs; Apple Quinoa Cinnamon, Blueberry Acai Flax and Raspberry Coconut.

Ecosox (December 7, 2014)
Ecosox is the maker of bamboo hiking socks, that are extremely soft, comfortable, and are perfect for hiking. If you are considering looking for a new pair of hiking socks, you need to check out Ecosocks.

Titan Paracord (November 30, 2014)
Titan™ Paracord is made from 100% Nylon, measures 5/32" in diameter, and contains 21 individual strands, braided into seven seriously-strong 3-strand yarns. Titan™ Paracord is the ultimate utility cord, and is also known as 550 Cord, Parachute Cord, or Survival Cord.

Nature Valley Granola Bars (November 7, 2014)
Nature Valley Granola Bars are awesome, need we really say more? Ashley and I routinely take them with us while on hikes and we got to test out a couple of different products from Nature Valley and would highly recommend each of them.

Yosemite Adventures (June 14, 2014)
If you are thinking about visiting Yosemite, you might want to check out this well written guide book about 50 Hikes, Climbs, and Winter Treks in Yosemite National Park. Readers will enjoy the detailed maps, vibrantly colored pages and photographs, as well as the crucial details for their adventure.
Dorcy Headlamp Product Review (June 2, 2014)
If you are looking for a good quality comfortable headlamp for a reasonable price, you will want to check out our review of these Dorcy Headlamps. 

Ora's Amazing Herbal Product Review (May 3, 2014)
Ora's Amazing Herbal makes a variety of all natural organic skin care products such as lip balms, all purpose salves, and powders to care for your skin after a long hike. If you are looking to try out a new skin care product you might consider looking at the products offered by Ora's Amazing Herbal.

Yaktrax Pro and Yaktrax Run (March 22, 2014)
Yaktrax are ice/snow traction devises that provide increased traction for cold weather hikes that fit around your hiking shoes. Next time you are going on a hike with the cold you might want to bring a pair of these with you!.

Timex Expedition Trail Mate Watch (September 5, 2013)
This is an attractive, comfortable, and rugged watch that can be worn while hiking or in the office. It has a built-in accelerometer which turns this into an essential tool for any walker or hiker -- providing real-time distance and speed in addition to alerts that help track your progress.

Tell it on the Mountain - Tales from the Pacific Crest Trail Movie Review (August 31, 2013)
If you are looking for a great documentary on the Pacific Crest Trail, make sure to check this one out. You just might find yourself taking a 5 month vacation.

ParaVival Paracord Product Review (April 21, 2013)
If you are looking to upgrade your hiking supplies with quality rope/emergency supplies. Make sure to check out ParaVival's Paracord, which is designed to hold up in many different types of situations.

Sprout Eco Friendly Watches (March 16, 2013)
Sprout makes really durable watches that not only have style, but are lightweight and are a good option to bring with you on the trail. Given that many of readers want products that are Eco friendly, Sprout watches are bonus because they also have style!

Premier Protein (February 27, 2013)
If you are looking for a great portable energy source of your next hike check out Premier Proteins line of protein packed bars and shakes. They taste great and are filling.

Motorola Talkabout 2 Way Radios (January 26, 2013)
If you are looking for a good set of outdoor 2 way radios you might want to consider this commercial Motorola product. We found these weatherproof 2 way radios performed well in "non-ideal conditions" and are worth your consideration.

HikeGoo (October 22, 2012)
HikeGoo forms a protective friction-free layer between your skin and sock to help prevent the formation of blisters on your hike. If you are looking for added blister protection on your longer hikes you might want to check out HikeGoo.

Coast Knives Rapid Response 3.0 (October 2, 2012)
If you are looking for a great knives and other outdoor multipurpose-tools, you need to check out our review of Coast Knives Rapid Response 3.0 as it is a knife that can definitely hold its own.

Planters Nutrition Energy Mix Peanut Butter (September 8, 2012)
If you are looking for some new flavors for your Peanut Butter and Jelly Sandwiches while hiking you should try Planters new Energy Mix Peanut Butter. Planters Nutrition Energy Mix comes in three different varieties; Mix Banana Granola Nut, Mix Berry Nut, and Cinnamon Raisin Granola Nut.

SureAqua Straw Water Filtration Review (July 14, 2012)
If you are looking to invest in a water filtration product, one you might want to considered is the SureAqua Straw Plus. We both thought the product overall was extremely durable, easy to use, and filtered water well.

Swedish FireKnife Review (June 27, 2012)
If you are in the market for a great all purpose knife that also serves as a fire-starter then look no further than the Swedish FireKnife; it is durable, affordable, and a great way to light your next campfire.

Carhartt Sock Review (All Seasons)(May 29, 2012)
Carhartt is company that is known for its high quality gear. If you are looking at purchasing new socks for hiking, you want to checkout our review of these All Season Carhartt Socks.

Columbia Winter Gear Review (March 8, 2012)
Columbia makes top of the line gear for hiking and we had the opportunity to do a review of Columbia's base-layer as well as a winter parka. You will not be disappointed with either of these great Columbia products if you are looking for good winter hiking gear.

Following Atticus (February 16, 2012)
If you are looking for a good book that involves the outdoors and is an inspiring story we can definitely recommend Following Atticus.  This is the story of an out-of-shape newspaperman, Tom Ryan, and Atticus M. Finch, a miniature schnauzer who become an unlikely pair of hikers/mountaineers.

KIWI Outdoor Survival Kit Review (November 17, 2011)
If you are looking for a quick way to make your hiking boots, tent, backpack, or gear waterproof for a hike then you might want to check out this KIWI line of products.

Sony Ericsson Fitness Experience Pack (November 7, 2011)
If you are looking for a high tech way to track your hikes and workouts then this is for you. The Fitness Experience pack allows you to accurately document and share your hikes with you friends and family all from the convenience of your smart phone.

Back of Beyond Audio Book Review (October 7, 2011)
If you are looking for a great murder mystery (Set in Yellowstone National Park) to listen to while on the way to the trailhead, then Back of Beyond is a great option for you. When listening to the audio book, you cannot help but notice the author's love and respect for the wilderness.

Mt. Whitney Belt Review (September 26, 2011)
If you are looking for a high quality belt that shows off your enthusiasm for the outdoors, or boldly displays in a unique manner that you have climbed Mt. Whitney, then you must check out the Mt. Whitney Belt by the people at C6.

For a list of Older Reviews, Make Sure to Check out Our Archived Review Section!

* If you liked this post, why don’t you join our readers who have already signed-up to receive free blog posts via email …because then you’ll never miss another update!